Europe approves of timid reopening to a postcoronavirus world

Thirty European countries agreed on Tuesday June 30, 2020 to reopen their borders to residents of China, Canada, Uruguay and 12 other nations, pressured to save a lucrative tourist season weighed down by the coronavirus pandemic. “We enter a new phase from tomorrow [1 de julio] with a selective opening of our external borders ”, tweeted the head of the European Council, Charles Michel, for whom it is“ a step forward ”, although“ the fight against covid-19 has not ended ”. We have to remain vigilant and keep our most vulnerable safe. This is a step forward but health conditions still apply. The fight against # COVID__19 is not over.— Charles Michel (@eucopresident) June 30, 2020 The decision to lift the restrictions will apply to China, Japan, Thailand, South Korea, New Zealand, Morocco, Tunisia, Rwanda, Australia, Algeria , Georgia, Montenegro, Serbia and Canada, as well as Uruguay, the only Latin American country. The Europeans specified that the reopening will apply to tourists from China “subject to confirmation of reciprocity”, especially when the Chinese authorities only authorize the entry of Residents of a limited number of European countries. The list, made especially based on epidemiological criteria, which will be updated every two weeks, leaves out citizens of the United States and Russia, which, together with China, are the main groups of tourists in The EU. The United States is the country hardest hit by the pandemic, with more than 126,000 deaths from some 2,600,000 infections, followed by Brazil (58,300 deaths from 1,360,000 cases). At least half a million people lost their lives in the world. To make their list, the Europeans, in complete confusion, examine the situation of the covid-19 in third countries, which must be similar or better to the European one, as well as the outbreak trend or the general response to the pandemic. The agreement is a non-binding “recommendation” to EU countries and those associated with the Schengen area of ​​free movement – Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Switzerland – responsible for implementing the decision in its entirety or not.To the citizens of the United Kingdom, a country that left the EU on January 31, the restrictions do not apply, nor, according to the recommendation adopted this Tuesday, to those of small European states of Monaco , Andorra, Vatican and San Marino.The adoption of the list came to the end of a series of arduous discussions due to the diplomatic and economic implications, in a context in which the European tourism sector was weighed down by the confinement pr He sought to revive travel. The International Monetary Fund (IMF) has already warned that nations where tourism is key to their economies, such as Spain or Greece, suffer more from the pandemic. This institution foresees a contraction of 10.2% of the GDP of the euro area in 2020. The countries most dependent on tourism wanted to open borders closed since March as soon as possible, but with some coordination. Greece, for example, allows tourist stays from New Zealand, South Korea or China from June 15. “A Member State should not decide to lift travel restrictions for third countries not included in the list before this is has decided in a coordinated way ”, warned the Council of the EU after the decision. European citizens in countries from which not all residents are allowed to travel can enter the block, as well as health professionals, diplomats, people seeking protection or who have planned a study stay.